Bob Spiers
LostCousins Superstar
Yes I believe at least one 'incorrect shutdown' may have been as a result of a Microsoft induced restart when I had FTM open. One other when I performed a shut down without realising FTM had not been closed. But for the remainder after performing what I believed to be a correct shutdown. Incidentally MacKiev 'Help' lists two closure options; the File/Exit or clicking on 'X' so theoretically having followed either procedure I should not get incorrect closure messages.However when I know it may be a while between FTM sessions or when I do fully shut down the PC for a longer break I irreverently hit the X button. The auto back up is quite quick and not too much of a delay. You can turn this feature off in Options if you do not like it.
The only time I get a warning to compact the database is when FTM has closed down unexpectedly - normally Windows deciding to do its own thing
I agree the auto backup is quick and was aware it could be turned off, but hoped by keeping it as a default it would prevent the messages. I shall persevere and see what happens and may have to contact MacKiev if the problem continues.
